Finals - 8 February 2017

Hundreds of fans packed into centre:mk to watch the action unfold as Team Derby and University of Nottingham Badminton went head-to-head for the trophy. With no fewer than six Olympians involved in the clash, it was the perfect finale to a memorable season.

Team Derby were chasing their second AJ Bell NBL title after winning in the league's inaugural year in 2015, but it wasn't to be as University of Nottingham Badminton took the victory 3-1 to become 2016/17 champions.

It wasn't all plain sailing for University of Nottingham Badminton though, as Team Derby's Lauren Smith and Kate Robertshaw breezed through their women's doubles tie with Jess Pugh and Li Lian Yang to prevail in straight sets.

However, a battling performance from Kieran Merrilees in the men’s singles quickly restored parity, as he triumphed over three-time Olympian Scott Evans - despite a great comeback effort from the Irish player.

Victory for Adcock and Vislova in the mixed doubles swung the tie in University of Nottingham's favour, as they came from a game down to defeat Ellis and Smith 3-1.

And in an all-Malaysian clash in the women’s singles, Li Lian Yang clinched the title for Nottingham, defeating Lyddia Cheah Yi Yu in straight sets as her teammates stormed the court in celebration.